landrytaylor

Calling All Hipsters:

In Uncategorized on January 26, 2011 at 2:31 pm

If you live in Austin, TX, then you will have undoubtedly come across one, or one-hundred, people that identify themselves as “hipsters.” If you’re not sure what I’m talking about, they are the young adults (about 15-30 years old) with fake Buddy Holly glasses and ironic t-shirts. In fact, the definition of Hipster is very vague, making it possible for just about anyone to fall under this category.

Regardless, there is a social networking site coming just for this demographic. Usehipster.com has been vaguely (go figure) identified as a combination of Foursquare, Twitter, and Quora. Someone recognized a growing public and created one spot these like-minded people can get information they deem important (like who is the best locally-owned Thai restaurant in town).

So, if you live in Austin, San Francisco, New York City, or Los Angeles, and think you may be a hipster, then check it out. If not, you’re so “midtown.”

  1. I was hoping the site was up because I really wanted to check it out, but unfortunately, it is not. Makes sense for it to launch in Austin though; we do tend to see a lot of our youth who look as if they just walked out of an American Apparel photoshoot.

    correct me if i’m wrong, but i’m pretty sure this is the exact definition of a hipster: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lVmmYMwFj1I

    • I think you nailed the definition of a Hipster. And I though the article would be relevant to our class because we are in Austin, which is why I chose it. I would tell you the exact time the site is launching, but so far all I’ve read is that it is coming “soon.” If I see that its up I will let you know!

  2. I like how you added your own personal twist on incorporating PR with something that people our age are interested in/know about. It will be interesting to see how usehipster.com works and if it grows in popularity. I feel that living in Austin, it would reach a large hipster population. Possibly even some St. Edward’s students would join it.

    • You’re right, there definitely is a huge Hipster population in Austin, which is why I though it was really cool that Austin is one of the cities the site will initially launch in.

Leave a Reply

